What does Private Browsing Really Mean

The big tech giants like Google, online advertising companies and hackers keep track of your browsing activity. Google and online advertising companies do it to display targeted ads and provide better services to you. While hackers do it to compromise your privacy.  

Users have realized the risks of this tracking and taken measures to hide their web activities from the spying eyes. One of the most common ways they use to protect themselves online is to adopt private browsing.

Private browsing is available in most popular browsers, including Firefox, Safari, Chrome and Internet Explorer. Firefox and Safari call it private browsing, Internet Explorer calls it InPrivate browsing and Chrome calls it incognito mode. They all allow users to browse the Internet without saving any browsing history.

If you want to activate the private browsing in your browser, you can follow our instructions below.

Chrome: Control/⌘ + Shift + N 

Firefox: Control/⌘ + Shift + P

Internet Explorer: Control + Shift + P

Safari: ⌘ + Shift + N  

Unfortunately, this approach doesn’t protect your browsing activity from your ISP or any other prying eyes. Private browsing doesn’t mean completely private.  

Many people misunderstand the way private browsing works. When you enable this mode in your browser, your private data, including search terms, sites visited, data entered into forms, email sent, etc., is 100% visible to your ISP, websites owners, hackers, cybercriminals and others because your IP address is still open to them.  

Just as most browsers warn you when entering private browsing, your online activity might still be visible to websites you visit, your internet service provider and others.

To completely protect your privacy online, you need to use a well-trusted VPN. RitaVPN is a good choice. It will prevent your online travels from being recorded.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *